Music titans triumphant in ultimate battle 22 Apr 2015

Talented performers from three schools emerged victorious after awing judges at the hotly contested final of Battle of the School Bands.

In the band category - Champagne With Mary-Jane - comprising Darwin High School and Palmerston Senior College students, was acknowledged the clear winner. The band foursome of high school students Eugene Duffy and Dakota Smith, and collegians Kyle Maher and Shishana Paleso’o, knew they had played their utmost at the Brown’s Mart Theatre clash. The funk rock band scored the award after notable renditions of their songs Marry Me Under The Sea and Money, Fame and Fire.

Taminmin College duo Prayer Corby and Jarrod Cockman outclassed their rivals to snatch victory in the soloist/duo class. In a surprise change the performers elected to alter the pitch of their music and singing just before taking to the stage. Technical problems made the pair uncertain their act was a winning recital, but the strength of their musical partnership clearly impressed the judges.

The 11 contenders at this year’s final were judged on musicianship and stagecraft as they played two original songs in the biggest Battle of the School Bands to date. The 10 April event was assessed by a panel of local music industry professionals, and followed seven heats at urban, regional and remote venues.

Battle of the School Bands is an NT Music School initiative that helps students develop song writing, musicianship and performance skills as part of the school curriculum. The annual competition began in 2009 and is open to middle and senior students from government and non-government schools.

The winners will perform at BASSINTHEGRASS on Saturday 23 May 2015 at the Darwin Amphitheatre.

Battle of the School Bands 2015

Nightcliff Primary School teacher claims NT Young Indigenous Educator Award 22 Apr 2015

Nightcliff Primary School teacher Haydon Staines claimed the Northern Territory Government Young Indigenous Educator Award, at the NT Young Achiever Awards ceremony on Saturday 11 April 2015.

Principal of Nightcliff Primary School, Graham Chadwick, describes Haydon as a passionate, very approachable teacher and mentor, and an excellent communicator whose skills and opinions are greatly valued by colleagues and parents.

After finishing his schooling in Darwin and Katherine, Haydon completed his Bachelor of Education Primary at Charles Darwin University in 2012, with the assistance of the prestigious Governor General’s Scholarship for Indigenous Student Teachers and the Northern Territory Education Bursary.

Haydon is a member of the NT Indigenous Curriculum Advisory Network, the team working to provide advice and feedback on Indigenous Studies modules and incorporating Indigenous perspectives into the curriculum.

As part of the department’s Primary Years Assessment Project, Haydon is examining the development of whole school data and the construction of whole school assessment and moderation. He is responsible for the development and trial implementation of a range of whole school programs, units and assessment tasks.

NT Young Indigenous Educator Award 2015

As a participant in the CDU 2015 Indigenous Teacher Leadership Program, Haydon aims to enhance his leadership capabilities and fulfil his aspiration of becoming a Northern Territory school principal.

(Photo: Left to right - Selina Chan (teacher) Jill Finch (Assistant Principal) Ken Davies (Chief Executive), Haydon Staines (award winner/teacher) Graham Chadwick (Principal Nightcliff Primary School) Clare Visentin (teacher) Debra Witte (teacher) Jo Glennon (Acting Assistant Principal, Nightcliff Primary School)).

A pole more than a pillar 27 Mar 2015
The visually arresting Oolloo Sandbar pole created by Rosebery Middle School students has been installed at the Territory Wildlife Park. The pole, one of five created by local artist Janie Andrews and local schools, is in central position in the new Oolloo Sandbar display featuring stingrays and barramundi.

Tiles on the pole, representing the transformation of barramundi from male to female fish, followed close inspection of the park’s specimens by talented members of the 2014 Year 9 advanced art class. Principal Lorraine Evans said the mosaic project, which began last year, is a “tribute to the talents of the students and the collaborating artists”.

“Our teacher Anita Jonauskas was instrumental in teaching the students how to take their design from drawing to mosaic, and in assisting with the overall management of the project,” she said.
“The students worked with local artist Janie Andrews and the park’s Artistic Officer Jasmine Jan, who ran painting and drawing workshops at the park focusing on Territory fish and sea life.
“The poles dramatically identify Rosebery Middle School as a centre of artistic excellence, and are a source of great pride to our school community.”

The poles were unveiled by current Year 9 students at an official ceremony on 23 March 2015.
pole Territory Wildlife Park