Protected Industrial Action

Tuesday 19 November 2013 – Impact on Schools

The Australian Education Union NT (AEUNT) has advised that its members will be taking industrial action on Tuesday 19 November 2013 in all regions outside Darwin and Palmerston.

Government schools located in Darwin and Palmerston will not be affected by the industrial action and will operate as normal.

The industrial action will affect schools in the Arnhem, Alice Springs, Barkly and Katherine regions. In addition, the following schools in the outer Darwin region:

  • Adelaide River School
  • Batchelor Primary School
  • Belyuen School
  • Douglas Daly School
  • Dundee Beach School
  • Mamaruni School
  • Milikapiti School
  • Nganambala School (Emu Point)
  • Nganmarriyanga School
  • Peppimenarti School
  • Pularumpi School
  • Tipperary School
  • West Arnhem College – Gunbalanya and Jabiru campuses
  • Woolaning School
  • Woolianna School

Schools impacted by the industrial action that remain open on Tuesday will provide limited, but adequate supervision for students to ensure their safety and wellbeing.

Parents and guardians may wish to make other arrangements for their children on this day.

School closures as at 8am Tuesday 19 November 2013 

Alice Springs

  • Laramba School
  • Nyirrpi School
  • Rona Glynn Preschool
  • Willowra School
  • Yuendumu School


  • Numbulwar School
  • Gunyangara classroom


  • Canteen Creek school
  • Robinson River school


  • Barunga School
  • Bulman School
  • Jilkminggan School
  • Kalkaringi School
  • MacFarlane Primary School
  • Pine Creek School
  • Timber Creek School
  • Wugularr School
  • Pigeon Hole School

Palmerston and Rural

  • Belyuen School
  • Dundee Beah School
  • Milikapiti School
  • Nganambala
  • Woolaning School

Total schools closed – 20 out of 115 schools (19 schools and one preschool)

Note: Darwin and most Palmerston and rural schools will not be impacted by the industrial action on 19 November 2013.

Parents should contact schools directly for more information. School phone numbers can be accessed from the Department of Education directory .

This web page will be updated regularly and will advise of arrangements at NT Government schools as they are known.